REVIEWS

Genuine House of Mark Cottage Reviews

WHAT GUESTS LOVE ABOUT HOUSE OF MARK COTTAGE

Discover why guests feel House of Mark Cottage is the best choice among Cottage in Glenesk.  Browse a selection of actual House of Mark Cottage reviews below to discover what other guests have enjoyed about their stay, from our romantic accommodations to access to wonderful things to do in Glenesk. From helpful advice to travel recommendations, our guests' House of Mark Cottage reviews of our Cottage offers the best explanation of what to expect during your stay, whether you join us for business or leisure. 

"We enjoyed our short stay at Ian's cottage. The location is fantastic - peaceful and with direct access to some nice walks and scenery. We loved watching all the animals from the window (chickens, sheep, guinea fowl and even a red squirrel!). The cottage was equipped with everything we needed and Ian was a thoughtful and communicative host."

Rachel, Fife

12 Aug - 14 Aug 2020

"Ian was a great host, he gave us a quick tour and provided us with fresh bread, eggs and a bottle of wine. The cottage is in a great location for walks (Mount Keen and Loch Lee) right on doorstep. Lots of wildlife closeby (sheep, hens, cows) added to the experience. Wood burner was enjoyed as well. Kitchen has all the necessary equipment. Great stay boosted further by lovely weather! 
"

Robert, Aberdeen

9 Aug - 11 Aug 2020

"I would highly recommend this place. The cottage is the perfect getaway and has all you need to ensure a proper break. The bedroom is up a small spiral staircase (built by the owner) and has an extremely comfortable bed. There is a good log fire with logs etc provided. It is very cosy. Kitchen has everything you need. The host is a super host. Ian makes every effort to ensure you are looked after and is a wealth of knowledge on the local area (walks etc). He also gave us fresh bread and eggs from the chickens while we were there which was unexpected but really great. The surrounding area is remote but has some great walks around the loch, up Mt Keen, etc. ."

Josh, London

31 Jul - 7 Aug 2020

"Fantastic little cottage and great place to get away for a peaceful break. Wonderful little touches with wine and fresh eggs on arrival, as well as hand sanitiser and cleaning products. The cottage also has everything you need for cooking. Many great walks begin a stone's throw from the cottage so it's so easy to stay here and not get in the car again for the entire stay. The cottage is surrounded by birds, hens and sheep and its a great area to spot red squirrels, deer and many other animals! Ian is a great host and is great at keeping in touch. We'll definitely be back again. ."

Natalie, Glasgow

16 Jul - 20 Jul 2020

"Fabulous escape to a lovely cottage with great views. Little touches such as a bottle of red wine, fresh bread, eggs and fruit made the place welcoming. A cosy log fire was just the thing after a day's walking in the glens. WiFi was intermittent but we didn't care as we were there to walk not surf the web. Would love to go again and see the wildlife on the door step and the inquisitive chickens. "

Sarah, Scotland

6 Jul - 9 Jul 2020

"Lovely little cottage in a very quiet location. Very peaceful having birds on the feeder and chickens around. The kitchen is well equipped and the cottage contains all you need and was clean throughout. Perfect place for a relaxing break. Ian was around to help if needed. "

Benjamin, Newtown, England

3 Jul - 6 Jul 2020

"Comfiest little place with a cosy atmosphere. Was our base for climbing mount keen but it was much more than that. Really enjoyed relaxing by the wood burning stove after a long walk. There were lots of thoughtful touches that made this cottage better than others (including homemade bread!) Ian was a very friendly and helpful host."

Bethany, Edinburgh

17 Jan - 19 Jan 2020

"Fantastic place to stay in some of the most amazing scenery! Great little touches including the welcome hamper and logs made for a great New Year trip. Would definitely recommend to family & friends ."

Max, Havant,UK

28 Dec 2019 - 1 Jan 2020

"This place is a perfect retreat, nestled on the edge of the Cairngorms National Park. If you are looking to get away from it in and relax in an idyllic mountain setting, you cannot go wrong with the House of Mark. ."

Howard, Lower Vobster, UK 

23 Dec - 27 Dec 2019

You'll love House of Mark Cottage, the cosiness, the location, and the views